It’s a Lomo, not a Homo!

Recently I was given the opportunity to fix an older analog camera. A friend of mine knew I was into film photography and somehow reasoned it also means mechanical skills. I observed the Cyrillic alphabet on the leather case and he explained that it’s a Homo. It sounded strangely familiar to something else and a tad unsettling but I didn’t bother with it at the time. I took it home and typed Homo 8M into the search engine. Nothing but dodgy sites resulted from it. I took a look at the cover one more time and that’s when it hit me! “It’s a Lomo, not a Homo!” And that is how I entered into the world of lomography. If you don’t know what that is, look it up. So, with the right keywords and a bit of perseverance I managed to get the Lomo Smena 8M in a fully working condition. I was supposed to give it back, but once I Ioaded the first film cartridge I’ve secretly decided to take it for a little spin. So it ended up travelling to England🙂 That’s how a portion of my first paycheck went to developing the films and here, behold the results:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image


Leave a Reply

