The Future is Now :)

If you’ve seen me in the last four years or so, I was most likely equipped with some sort of retro camera. It might’ve been a Zenith-E, a Practica, maybe a Smena 8M or perhaps a Nikon FE2. These were the weapons of choice that I could get my hands on, to accommodate my passion for taking pictures. A third eye, if you will, which would document to the minute detail what my memory would inevitably skew as time passes on.

In this day and age, when digital photography is dominating all aspects of photography, shooting film has become cumbersome. Not so much n terms of availability but more so financially. For me at least. I take pictures everyday and I don’t like the feeling of holding back on the shutter because I feel I can’t afford it. So the practical aspect of a digital camera was definitely on my mind – but again, an investment I didn’t wanna take. But I still wanted to take pictures – badly… The solution, as it turned out, was in my pocket all along.
A smartphone. I was always a skeptic towards mobile phones in general. But when I realized my iPhone 4 was quite capable of delivering a satisfiable level of picture quality, I got on the smart train. Coupled with instant editing and sharing prospects, I was, and still am, hooked.

As it turns out, there is a whole Thing out there, growing, evolving, claiming it’s place and getting recognized. It’s called iPhoneography or better yet, mobile photography.Growing with it and supporting it, is an industry providing different lenses, tripods, grips and other paraphernalia one might need when getting more serious. How serious? Well, Nike just finished a short skate movie filmed entirely on a iPhone 6. More than successfully.

And as much as I would like to tell you more about this relatively new and exciting form of photography, you’ll need to take a rain check, as I will be late for work if I don’t finish this off, pronto. Btw, all pictures taken on Samsung Galaxy S3 and edited with either Snapseed, VSCO or Instagram apps.


Leave a Reply

